Tuesday, May 29, 2007

Political dynasties and old winners

Only 20 congressmen have been re-elected, but political dynasties have endured and there will be a lot of old familiar names in the 14th Congress.

Escudero will be replacing his son, winning senatorial candidate and outgoing House Minority Leader Francis Escudero, who represented Sorsogon’s first district.

Seventeen other administration congressmen who have previously served their constituents either as governor, vice governor or mayor, will return as congressmen.

They are Antonio Kho of Masbate, Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. of Ilocos Norte, Al Francis Bicharra of Albay, Jose Yap of Tarlac, Pablo Garcia of Cebu, Carmencita Reyes of Marinduque, Orlando Fua Sr. of Siquijor, Pedro Romualdo of Camiguin and Eleandro Jesus Madrona of Romblon, who all served as governors of their respective provinces.

The returning congressmen who served as city mayors are Neptali “Boyet” Gonzales II of Mandaluyong and Pampanga’s Carmelo Lazatin, former mayor of Angeles City.

Others include former Maguindanao congressman Didagen Dilangalen who will now represent the new province of Shariff Kabunsuan, Jules Ledesma of Negros Occidental, Edelmiro Amante of Agusan del Norte and Magtanggol Guinigundo Jr. of Valenzuela.

Source: ABSCBN news

for more on that story, visit here

for other election related stories, results and etc. visit http://www.votester.com.ph